22 New Ministers

by Michael Ford last modified 14 Oct, 2011 02:54 PM

The Bishop of Sherborne, Dr Graham Kings, ordained 14 new Deacons in Salisbury Cathedral on Saturday 8 October. He also licensed eight Lay Ministers there on Sunday 9 October.

22 New Ministers

The 2011 deacons after their ordination

Six women and eight men became Deacons, having completed a three-month ‘taster’ period as Licensed Lay Workers in their parishes.

Six women and two men were be licensed as Lay Ministers. Three are new to the role, and five have moved to the Diocese from elsewhere.

Dr Kings said, 'I love services of ordination and of licensing lay ministers. Many people are touched by God's presence who don't often go to church. They are profoundly moved by their friends or relatives, who are being ordained or licensed giving themselves completely and utterly to God for service in his world. I pray that God's Holy Spirit will renew and challenge us all.'

Deacons have been described as the ‘eyes and ears’ of parish priests. Their role involves teaching the faith, preparing people for Baptism and Marriage, leading Funerals and preaching. They are commissioned particularly to care for the sick and bereaved, and those on the edge of their communities.

Licensed Lay Ministers are selected, trained and licensed by the bishop of a diocese to preach, teach and lead worship. There are more than 10,000 in the Church of England. Most are licensed to a parish but some are chaplains in prisons, hospitals, hospices or schools and a few are in charge of parishes. All donate their services to the church without receiving any payment or salary.


Further information please contact:
Jonathan Ball, Chaplain and press Officer to the Bishop of Salisbury
Telephone: 01722 334031/07500 872081


Diocese of Salisbury Michaelmas Deacons 2011

Tina Draycott                    Avon River Team
Philip Elliott                      Bradford-on-Avon Holy Trinity
Simon Faulks                   Warminster Christ Church
Norma Fergusson             Rowde & Bromham
Andrew Poppe                  Clarendon Team

Suzanna Allen                  Wareham
Brigid Barrett                    Parkstone St Peter and St Osmund with Branksea St Mary, and
                                       Poole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Adrian Brook                    Pimperne, Stourpaine, Durweston and Bryanston
Shuna George                  Bridport Team
Penelope Kennedy            Buckland Newton, Cerne Abbas, Godmanstone & Minterne Magna
Nicholas Mercer                Gillingham and Milton-on-Stour
James Stephenson            North Poole Ecumenical Team and Canford School
Justin Tomkins                  Longfleet
Michael Young                  Wareham

Diocese of Salisbury Michaelmas Licensed Lay Ministers 2011

Andrew King                     Bratton, Edington & Imber, Erlestoke and Coulston
Pamela Evans                   Oldbury Benefice
Janet and Peter Likeman   White Horse Benefice
Debrah McIsaac                Clarendon Team Ministry
Christine Marsh                 Mere with West Knoyle and Maiden Bradley
Christine Taylor                 Upper Wylye Team Ministry

Jane Griffin                        Spetisbury with Charlton Marshall & Blandford St Mary

Document Actions