Your basket
Your basket
0 items - £0.00

Personal tools

Home News Twelve New Deacons Arrive

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Twelve New Deacons Arrive

by Michael Ford last modified 03 Oct, 2012 02:27 PM

Twelve new deacons were ordained on Saturday (29 September) in Salisbury Cathedral, during a service attended by the Bishops of Salisbury, Ramsbury and Sherborne.

Twelve New Deacons Arrive

Deacons 2012- photo by Mark Giles

Click here for a gallery

The Bishop of Salisbury presided, assisted by the Bishops of Ramsbury and Sherborne- the first time all three have been present at a service since Edward Condry was welcomed as Bishop on Sunday 23 September. (Click here for that story)

The Revd Clare Herbert, a Lecturer in Inclusive Theology from The Bishop of Salisbury's previous parish of St Martin's in the Fields, preached a sermon on Jesus washing his disciples' feet.

Highlights included all three Bishops washing the feet of the deacons- four deacons each- during the service, and the Revd Ruth Gillings leaving on a motor-trike.

This year's deacons are now curates:

  • The Revd Colette Annesley-Gamester: Spire Hill Benefice, Dorset
  • The Revd Anne Bond: Corfe Castle and Swanage Benefices, Dorset
  • The Revd Roger Butcher: Wyke Regis, Dorset
  • The Revd Keith Charnley: Bradford Group, Wiltshire
  • The Revd Wendy Cooper: Sarum St Thomas and St Edmund, Salisbury
  • The Revd Margaret Evans: Ensbury Park, Dorset
  • The Revd Ruth Gillings: Curate to Atworth with Shaw and Whitley, Wiltshire
  • The Revd Diane Gingell: Sturminster Newton, Dorset
  • The Revd Alice Goodall: St Bartholomew (the Donheads), Wiltshire
  • The Revd Ruth Mecredy: Melksham Group, Wiltshire
  • The Revd Jemma Sander-Heys: Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
  • The Revd Christopher Spencer: St James Southbroom (Devizes), Wiltshire


Ordained Ministry
Deacons page 

Further information
Contact Michael Ford, Communications Co-ordinator:
01722 438651, 836989,

Document Actions