Your basket
Your basket
0 items - £0.00

Personal tools

Home Who's who About us Where we are

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Where we are

by Michael Ford last modified 30 Jul, 2019 01:03 PM

The Diocese of Salisbury covers a part of England that extends from the south coast up into Dorset and most of Wiltshire, plus parts of Devon and Hampshire.

Click here to find a Parish

Click here to find a School


The Anglican Diocese of Salisbury is the seventh largest in area in the Church of England, extending over 2000 square miles, with a population of about 955,000. Within this diocese there is wide diversity in geography between the many urban areas and the deeply rural ones.

The diocese includes 95% of Dorset, 75% of the unitary authority of Wiltshire, the unitary authority of Poole, 40% of the unitary authority of Bournemouth, a small part of west Hampshire and one parish in Devon.

Poole is the largest urban area, followed by Weymouth & Portland, Salisbury and Trowbridge (the county town of Wiltshire), with many smaller towns including Dorchester (the county town of Dorset), Ferndown and Devizes.

Rural areas are grouped round a number of market towns to which the rural population looks for shopping and most services, especially in Wiltshire.


For a short history of the Diocese, click here.

International Links

The Diocese of Salisbury has forged international links with dioceses in other countries over a number of years. We have particularly strong links with four countries: Sudan and South Sudan, France (Évreux), and Latvia.

Document Actions