Your basket
Your basket
0 items - £0.00

Personal tools

Home Who's who Synods Diocesan Synod

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Diocesan Synod

by Michael Ford last modified 16 Jun, 2017 10:59 AM

Diocesan Synod is the statutory governing body of the Diocese of Salisbury.

Updated Listing = latest updates

Meeting dates for 2017

  • Saturday 4 March, 10am-4pm 
    (Corfe Mullen)
  • Wednesday 14 June, 6.30-9pm 
  • Saturday 18 November, 10am-4pm

Post-Synod resources

See box on the right for the latest, and a link to the archive.

What Diocesan Synod does

  • Considers matters concerning the Church of England
  • Makes provision for these matters in relation to the Diocese
  • Considers and expresses an opinion on matters of religious or public interest
  • Advises the Bishop on matters on which he may consult Synod
  • Considers and expresses an opinion on any matters referred to it by the General Synod

In addition, Diocesan Synod is responsible for:

  • Keeping Deanery Synods informed on policies, problems and Synod business
  • Delegating some executive functions to Deanery Synods
  • Keeping itself informed through Deanery Synods of opinions and events in the parishes
  • Discussing matters raised by Deanery Synods and Parochial Church Councils


The Diocesan Synod is made up of three Houses:

  • House of Bishops
  • House of Clergy
  • House of Laity

The President of the Synod is the Bishop.  The Chairmen of the House of Clergy and the House of Laity are the vice-presidents of the Synod and, in that rôle, vice-chairs of Bishop’s Council. They share in shaping the agenda of the Diocesan Synod and chairing its meetings. They also ensure that the opinions of their respective Houses and the Deaneries are canvassed and heard.

Profile: Chair of House of Clergy 
Profile: Chair of House of Laity - vacant  

The Bishop’s Council, the standing committee of the Diocesan Synod, is a statutory body. Its purpose is to gather views from, and consult with, the Deaneries and parishes on concerns of the people of the Diocese; make recommendations on policy to the Diocesan Synod; scrutinise and review the action plans that are put in place to implement the policy decisions made by the Diocesan Synod. The Council also acts as the Diocesan Pastoral Committee. Bishop’s Council membership for the current triennium, 2015-2018, can be seen here.

The Diocesan Board of Finance (DBF) Chairman is a member of Bishop’s Council and chairs the part of the Synod agenda concerned with financial aspects of the governance of the Diocese. There is also a strong representational element to this rôle in visiting parishes and deaneries, explaining policy and responding to comments. The Vice Chairman of the DBF is also one of the elected Members of Bishop’s Council.

In this diocese, members of Diocesan Synod are also members of the DBF. This requires members to find a balance between financial resources and constraints on the one hand with policies that the Synod wishes to see implemented on the other.

The DBF is a registered Charity (No 240833). The members of Bishop’s Council are the Executive Directors and Trustees of the DBF Company and Charity.

Standing Orders of Diocesan Synod Feb 2006
Memorandum & Articles of Association of the Diocesan Board of Finance 

Secretary to the Diocesan Synod
Mrs Lucinda Herklots:
01722 411922, 


Document Actions