by Michael Ford last modified 09 Feb, 2018 11:17 AM

The Bishop of Salisbury is assisted by two suffragan bishops, the Bishop of Ramsbury and the Bishop of Sherborne.

Until 2010, all three bishops operated under an area scheme established in 1981. Each suffragan bishop (known as an Area Bishop) had a formal geographical area of responsibility.

The Bishop of Ramsbury was responsible for the Diocese’s Wiltshire and Hampshire parishes. The Bishop of Sherborne was responsible for those parishes in Dorset and Devon belonging to the Diocese.

This scheme was replaced to reflect the increased working across the whole Diocese by all three bishops. Though primarily responsible for the same areas, the two suffragans may now legally function anywhere in the Diocese, and the Bishop of Salisbury may delegate any of his functions to them.

The Bishop of Salisbury is the Right Reverend Nicholas Holtam, formerly Vicar of St Martin-in-the-Fields, Trafalgar Square. For more details please click here.

Three other retired bishops living in the Diocese also assist at confirmations as honorary assistant bishops: Bishops Bill Ind, David Hallatt and John Kirkham.

For more information, please contact:

South Canonry, 71 The Close, Salisbury SP1 2ER

Document Actions